Honesty can confuse the dishonest

One thing that I am learning, aside from how to be honest with myself and others, is that somebody who is not honest with themselves cannot possibly be expected to be honest with anybody else, and you can’t really blame them, because they just don’t know any better.

I think that the main reason for this is that while they are hiding the truth about some aspects of who they are, they begin to live the life of the liar, without even realizing. People are often times forced into this way of living due to the circumstances around their upbringings, and their environments.

It becomes not only a habit, but a way of living, because they are protecting their secrets. Little white lies are not considered bad to people who have huge life changing lies in their back pocket; like being an addict, or being gay. I personally am not gay (I have friends who are and I know the pain the thought of being pushed out or unaccepted causes), but I am an addict, and I know that one white lie covers another, and another, until you begin to believe your own fallacies.

At the end of all of the lies though, there is no greater feeling than that moment of truth, the weight being finally fully lifted from shoulders weary from years of needless lies. Anybody who is in your life that doesn’t accept you in all of your truth, does not deserve to be around the real you.

Don’t be anything but real, and do it for yourself. The right people will appreciate you for who you are, no matter who that is.

Leave a comment